Hockey quitting politics, more women in new Turnbull ministry

Malcolm Turnbull’s new ministry has been announced with senior Abbott Ministers Eric Abetz, Joe Hockey and Kevin Andrews nowhere to be seen.


“What we have today is as I said right at the outset, a 21st century government and a ministry for the future. Very big changes to meet very big challenges to help all of us,” Mr Turnbull told reporters.

“That requires renewal,” he stressed.

Related reading

Scott Morrison is the new treasurer, while Marise Payne has been appointed Australia’s first woman defence 


One of the government’s little known senators, Payne has been appointed the country’s first female defence minister.

South Australian MP Christopher Pyne is the new Industry and Innovation Minister.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has announced his first front bench lineup in Canberra on Sunday afternoon.

Treasurer Joe Hockey is off the front bench and will quit parliament “in due course”, Mr Turnbull said.

“Joe has made a long and distinguished contribution to our nation’s government and parliament over many, many years,” he said.

New Employment Minister and Minister for Women Michaelia Cash and and Small Business Minister Kelly O’Dwyer will be in cabinet.

Simon Birmingham replaces Mr Pyne as Education Minister, while former West Australian treasurer Christian Porter will be the new Social Services Minister.

Josh Frydenburg is also elevated to the Cabinet, taking on responsibities for Resources and Northern Australia.

George Brandis has lost Arts, but retains the attorney-general’s role.

Others out of the cabinet include Peter Dutton, Kevin Andrews, Eric Abetz, Michael Ronaldson, Ian Macfarlane are also off the front bench, as is Bruce Billson who declined a demotion from cabinet.

Senior Liberal Arthur Sinodinos returns to the inner circle, becoming cabinet secretary.

Former Howard government minister and Turnbull backer Mal Brough is rewarded as special minister of state, while Mitch Fifield takes over communications.

Andrew Robb stays as trade minister, Mathias Cormann retains finance, Greg Hunt environment and George Brandis will continue as attorney-general.

Julie Bishop retains the foreign ministry, while Andrew Robb keeps trade, Sussan Ley keeps health and Greg Hunt keeps the environment portfolio.

Mr Billson, the former small business minister, a position outside cabinet which he didn’t take up.

“That is his call,” Mr Turnbull said.

The fresh team will be sworn in on Monday.